May 28, 2024

In a surprising twist, the Nigerian national basketball team, D’tigers, will be flying to Cote d’Ivoire for the Afrocan Qualifiers.

According to sources, the players and officials had initially made travel arrangements by road.

However, due to the recent negative feedback on social media and other online platforms the governing body seems to have been compelled to take necessary action.

“Afrocan is newly established tournament for African National teams under the direction of FIBA Africa. The concept of introducing this competition arose from the decision to transition the FIBA Afrobasket from a biennial event to a quadrennial one”.

Read more on the recent fracas with the U-16 team

The home-based D’Tigers will be representing our nation at the AfroCan tournament. They would be facing Guinea, Benin Republic and Coted I’voire in the qualifiers.

Here’s the full team list;

  • Johnson Anaiye
  • Okiki Michael
  • Victor Ezeh
  • Michael Daramola
  • Odufuwa Kanyinsola
  • Wisdom Anyaoha
  • Ibe Agu
  • Victor Koko
  • Chinedu Chimbou
  • Tolani Buhari
  • Abba Adamu Adam
  • Adebayo Oduleye

Apart from Abdulwahab Yakubu, Israel Otobo and Lekan Olatunji who are absent from this list, every player present at the FIBA World Cup Qualifiers in Angola held February this year make the final team.

The Nigerian national team would play Guinea -30th June, Benin – 1st July, Ivory Coast -2nd July

We hope to see the full roar of the squad as they make the country proud.

Kindly Like, Comment and Share this post. Follow us; Facebook @ReboundNG Twitter @ReboundNG

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *